I thought that I’d write today’s blog on movies that seriously have made my heart flutter, smile, and melt. And because I am one of the most INDECISIVE people on the planet I have to do a Top 5. Some of you may not even be old enough or care enough about some of these movies but I tell you what, watch them ONCE and you may just fall in love!!!

#1: Top Gun: (1986)

Seriously, this is my ALL TIME favorite movie EVER made. Even though I wasn’t even a twinkle in anyone’s eye when this movie came out or was even made it still holds a special spot in my heart. This was one of my favorite movies that Tom Cruise made, before he went all psychotic. The story of loss, love, and risks that we all take for love and life. A very great story I LOVE IT! Plus the soundtrack to this movie makes me SMILE.

#2) The Breakfast Club (1985)

Whenever this movie comes on I seriously want to go into a library and stand on tables and dance! This movie is SO true about the way that high school life is today. You have the “nerd”, the “outcast”, the “rebel”, the “jock”, and the “princess”. Every single one of us has felt like one of these sometimes in our lives and you think wow, if only you could sit those sort of people in the same room for one Saturday and think of the outcome.  May be less bullies in the world.

My favorite quotation from this movie is as follows and it’s at the end of it:

Brian Johnson: Dear Mr. Vernon, we accept the fact that we had to sacrifice a whole Saturday in detention for whatever it was we did wrong. What we did *was* wrong. But we think you’re crazy to make an essay telling you who we think we are. You see us as you want to see us… In the simplest terms, in the most convenient definitions. But what we found out is that each one of us is a brain…
Andrew Clark: …and an athlete…
Allison Reynolds: …and a basket case…
Claire Standish: …a princess…
John Bender: …and a criminal…
Brian Johnson: Does that answer your question?… Sincerely yours, the Breakfast Club.

#3) Pretty In Pink (1986)

As you can see a lot of the movies that I like are from the 80’s. I don’t know what it is but man the 80’s seem like things were more relevant, and made less sense, were more crazy and out there, and it was a time where you WISH you were in high school. And as you can see a lot of the styles are coming back from the 80’s. Plus the music was CRAZY.  The reason that I love this movie is that there was an alternate ending. PAUSE bet you all you didn’t know that huh? Unless you are a huge movie buff. In the original ending Andie (Andrea) picks Duckie, but because of the test audience that they used they didn’t want her to pick her childhood friend, they wanted her to pick the “rich” guy. So they had to go in and re-shoot the entire ending to suit their “audiences” back then. Just a little movie history for you. I would’ve preferred she picked Duckie (Jon Cryer (2 1/2 Men’s Alan Harper)) just because his love for her ran so deep, he loved her no matter what her stature, what her job, or what she wore. She loved her for HER. I wish that you could find love like that EVERYWHERE. The one thing that gets me about this movie is the kiss that is at the end…..GROSS. It was by far the WORST kiss ever! But every time this movie is on VH1 I HAVE to watch it.

#4) The Notebook (2004)

I have read the actual book, I read it before the movie came out and I fell in love. When this movie came out not only are you attracted to the characters but you are attracted to the story as well. This is a love that can stand time. You watch them fall in love, leave for a short time, then fall right back in love, and back to the place that they were when they left off. And the ending of the story is beautiful. I won’t ruin it for those who have never seen it or read the book but let me tell you this…it is HEART WARMING. It will melt your heart on the spot, and you may just cry…I did.  There is one defining quote in this movie that completely reminds me of my husband and I. Here it is:

“I want all of you, forever, you and me, every day.”

“The best love is the kind that awakens the soul and makes us reach for more, that plants a fire in our hearts and brings peace to our minds. And that’s what you’ve given me. That’s what I’d hoped to give you forever.”

and my TOP favorite one of ALL:

“Well that’s what we do, we fight… You tell me when I am being an arrogant son of a bitch and I tell you when you are a pain in the ass. Which you are, 99% of the time. I’m not afraid to hurt your feelings. You have like a 2 second rebound rate, then you’re back doing the next pain-in-the-ass thing. So it’s not gonna be easy. It’s gonna be really hard. We’re gonna have to work at this every day, but I want to do that because I want you. I want all of you, for ever, you and me, every day”.  (I love you Trent). 😀

and….

#5)

I just want to thank my MOM for turning me on to this movie. I didn’t think I would like it because of course it was “old school”.  This really is a great movie, and if you have the patience for the 80’s hair and classic 80’s style then this is a great find. I love this movie because it really is one of those that most of us have been through. Falling for the popular boy/girl because they have money, or they are in the “in-crowd” only to realize the one that has always been there, and always will be is your best friend. Or, maybe some of us have been that “friend” who is in love with a boy/girl who you have to sit and listen to the stories of how they long for this popular person, and it’s all that they ever think of. Knowing deep down inside that you love someone that is in love with someone else. This movie is so relate-able that you just can sit down with a bowl of popcorn and not take your eye off of the screen.

Sorry that this post was so long but I wanted to share not only 1 photo but many photos because I was watching a movie tonight that melts my heart every single time and I just couldn’t help but have my post be about movies that melt your heart.

-My inner fight-

